AOH Orange County Board
AOH Orange County New York
Board Officers
Division 1
Division 2
Division 3
Division 4
Junior Division 1st Lt. Louis E. Allen AOH Junior
Meeting Times and Locations
Sick And Welfare



History of the Ancient Order of Hibernians in Orange County New York

The earliest information available is from a Directory supplied by the AOH and dated 1884. There were only two Divisions with the following seal and slate of officers;


James Brennan, County Delegate Middletown.

Division 1 

John C. Egan, President, Middletown.

James O’Neal, Vice President, Middletown.

John Tynan, Recording Secretary, Middletown.

John Bennett, Financial Secretary, Middletown.

Francis Tiernery, Treasurer, Middletown.

Division 3

William Ganley, President, Port Jervis.

James Bredley, Vice President, Port Jervis.

Henry C. Hughes, Recording Secretary, Port Jervis.

James E. McCormack, Financial Secretary, Port Jervis.

James Coady, Treasurer, Port Jervis.


By 1902 the Irish had become more active and the growth of the Ancient Order of Hibernians had increased to five Divisions. The AOH National Directory for 1902 listed the following slate of officers for Orange County, New York, along with the meeting places and a new seal for the AOH;


Orange County Board

Thomas M. Gillen, County President, 194 North Street, Middletown.

James P. Gillen, County Vice President, 73 Jersey Avenue, Port Jervis.

John V. Treacy, County Recording Secretary, Highland Falls.

Daniel Treaey, County Treasurer, Highland Falls.

James W. Collins, County Financial Secretary, 74 Jersey Avenue, Port Jervis.


Division 1

Thomas M. Gillen, President, 194 North St., Middletown.

Emmett Durham, Vice President, 89 Sprague Ave., Middletown.

John B Carey, Recording Secretary, 82 E. Main St., Middletown.

James H. Monahan, Financial Secretary, 49 Sprague Ave., Middletown.

Owen McGuire, Treasure, 183 W. Main St., Middletown.

Meetings held in Hall of Paugeaughnaughsinque Tribe of Red-men on the second Monday of each month.


Division 3

M. J. O’Donnell, President, 76 Jersey Ave., Port Jervis.

Patrick Cronin, Vice President, 33 Mechanic St., Port Jervis

James P. Colgan, Recording Secretary, 147 W. Main St., Port Jervis.

J. W. Collins, Financial Secretary, 74 Jersey Ave., Port Jervis.

J. P. Gillen, Treasurer, 73 Jersey Ave., Port Jervis.

Meetings held in Hall of Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers on the alternate Fridays.


Division 4

James F. Cosgrove, President, 1 Edward St., Newburgh.

Robert Menis, Vice President, So. Water St., Newburgh.

Bernard Rourke, Recording Secretary, W Broadway, Newburgh.
P. J, Fogarty, Financial Secretary, 168 Broadway, Newburgh.

John Lavin, Treasurer, 32 Benkard Ave. Newburgh.

Meetings held in Corcoran’s Hall, Broadway, on First and Third Thursday s of each month.


Division 5

Timothy Rohan, President, Monroe.

John Dwyer, Vice President, Tuxedo Park, Monroe.

John Doyle, Recording Secretary, Monroe.

John Stewart, Financial Secretary, Monroe.

Patrick Farrell, Treasure, Monroe.

Meetings held in Stewart Hall on the Second Sunday of each month.


Division 6

James Maher, President, Highlands Falls.

Michael Donnelly, Vice President, Highland Falls.

Edward An, Recording Secretary, Highland Falls.

Patrick Mearn, Financial Secretary,  Highland Falls.

Daniel Treacy, Treasurer,  Highland Falls.

Meetings Held in Treacy’s Hall on Second Tuesday of each month